The Band – Music From Big Pink (CD)


Classic debut from The Band.

1 in stock

SKU: 724352539024 Categories: , , ,


The band emerged from months of seclusion with this enthralling debut album. It followed a lengthy spell accompanying Bob Dylan, which culminated in sessions known as the basement tapes. Three songs herein were revived from those recordings, and the remainder showed a similar pastoral spirit. Where contemporaries sought expression in progressive music, the band were largely reflective, creating atmosphere from traditional forms and distilling the results in an economical style. The band’s ensemble playing and rural voices were best captured on ‘The Weight,’ an elliptical composition that displayed their craft to perfection. AmericanTa of every hue can be gleaned from this collection, the depth of which left a marked impression on audiences and musicians alike.




1. Tears of Rage
2. To Kingdom Come
3. In a Station
4. Caledonia Mission
5. The Weight
6. We Can Talk
7. Long Black Veil
8. Chest Fever
9. Lonesome Suzie
10. This Wheel�s on Fire
11. I Shall be Released

Leave a Reply